Stir Fry Sliced Pork

Stir fries are supposed to be fool-proof. They require speed, but generally should be manageable even by the ordinary twelve year old. And then, there’s me. I know I have no natural touch with food preparation of any kind, or I lack practice, whatever. So, most cases, you’ll see the most simple dishes prepared in ways which may have you roll your eyes or gag. For that, I apologise. Now, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Stir Fry Pork

This recipe has two variations, one from mom and the other, just about the only dish my dad’s ever produced (because mom was sick for a day). I like to eat it with white, unseasoned porridge because the savory chewiness goes really well with bland mush. Mom would have it cooked with ginger. Dad likes it with onions. Here are his steps…

  1. Finely slice an onion.
  2. Marinate sliced pork in soy sauce, a bit of sugar, a drop of dark sweet soy and cornstarch (I use my hands to mix everything together. It’s extremely therapheutic, trust me). Leave the marinate in the fridge for an hour or so before cooking. But if you can’t wait, head straight to the wok.
  3. Heat up the wok and add a bit of oil.
  4. Throw in the onions.
  5. Throw in the marinated pork.
  6. Stir fry on high heat. Because they are sliced, everything should be cooked in a jiffy.
  7. Just before you dish them out, add a dash of Japanese mayonnaise (This part isn’t part of dad’s recipe)
  8. Serve with steamed rice or porridge (Rice is cooked by the rice-cooker. Porridge is loads of water and rice on medium heat until they look lumpy and edible).
Leave a Reply

